[Travel News] Luxemburg Extends Covid-19 Entry Measures

Luxemburg’s Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs has prolonged the country’s COVID-19 entry restrictions until September 30, 2022.

This means that travellers coming to Luxembourg must continue to adhere to the safety measures upon arriving at the country for almost three more months.

According to a news release by the Ministry, due to the nation’s ongoing efforts to prevent another breakout of the Coronavirus within the boundaries of Luxembourg, third-country visitors who don’t have either European Union or Schengen Area residency will still be subject to these regulations until the end of the summer.

According to the press release: “These restrictions apply to all travel to Luxembourg, regardless of the means of transport.”

Additionally, the note states that people who hold residence permits given by an EU or Schengen country and those under the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement’s provision remain exempted from these regulations.

Travellers coming from countries that are among the list of the EU’s list of epidemiologically safe third countries will also be exempted from the safety mandate. Those countries include:

  • Bahrain
  • Chile
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • the United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay

Travellers from third countries that do not appear in the list can still cross Luxembourg’s borders provided that they can present any of the following documents:

A vaccination against COVID-19 certificate, the type of which is among those accepted by the country, namely BioNTech, Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca, Janssen, Covishield, R-Covi (R-Pharm), and FIOCRUZ. For people who have had two doses of the vaccine, the certificate must have been granted within the last nine months; however, for those who have received a third dosage or booster injection, the certificate's validity is unrestricted.

Proof of recovery in the last 180 days that is issued at least 12 days after the virus contraction was confirmed.

The news elaborated: “At the same time, the Ministry informs that following the recent equivalence decisions of the European Commission, the vaccination certificates issued by the authorities of Bahrain, Ecuador, Indonesia, Kosovo, Madagascar, Seychelles, and Vietnam are from now on to be considered as equivalent.”

As a result of the decision, citizens from the countries in the list above who possess a certificate of vaccination against COVID-19 are now permitted to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg so long as they have had vaccinations with one of the vaccines recognised by the Luxembourgish government.

Simultaneously, Luxembourg authorities have now recognized the recovery certificates offered in Bahrain, Kosovo, Seychelles, and Vietnam, which means travellers originating from these countries holding said certificate can now enter Luxembourg for leisure purposes without having to deal with further restrictions.

Khoa Pham

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.